for the crowd


Edmonton Fashion Week – Fall 2008
September 6, 2008, 8:32 pm
Filed under: Fashion | Tags: ,

Bla bla bla, it’s about time I update this thing again. And what about? Fashion week, of course.

Ridiculously enough, my most popular post on this blog so far is apparently the post I made concerning Fashion Week for Spring 2008. This tells me two things: one, I should pay more attention this time around, and two, Trent Reznor isn’t as interesting to everyone else as I appear to think he is. Hmmmm. Food for thought.

Interestingly, this season Fashion Week is being held over two weeks, but on the more accessible days (Thursdays to Sundays). Last night was the Opening Gala. Unlike before, they were actually charging for admittance to the gala, which included a lot of good talent and a return of that redheaded guy named Martin who was kicked off of Canadian Idol early. There was also this incredibly sweet girl with a hoarse voice that performed that reminded me very strongly of Rachel Yamagata, whom I love. Despite that, though, the turnout was still pretty poor.

Apparently, as I and others were informed, there was a lot of hullabaloo (ie, some vague confusion) down in Winston Churchill Square, since people were showing up and, lo and behold, the runway was not set up. That’s because this season EFW has moved its location to the aviation hanger at 11410 KingswayAvenue (it’s super hard to miss… just drive down Kingsway, and park by the giant model airplane). Fortunately the organizers figured out they ought to put up signs in the square, which they were supposed to have done today. Obviously I am not there tonight so I can’t actually say whether or not it worked.

I was there for Thursday and Friday; Friday had a way better turnout, and on the whole I approved of the fashion lines but was sometimes concerned over the clothing’s wearability (I actually have the names of the designers somewhere, but am too lazy to try and find them… if you saw the current state of my room right now, you’d understand). I mean, thin shiny fabric is nice and all, but when you convert that into pants, all it does is create dozens and dozens of wrinkles all along the back of the legs, providing a nice ‘flabby leg forced into too-tight trousers’ illusion. Flattering? Not so much.

And what was the deal with dresses and pants being so tight there was no way you could have underwear on at the same time without a horrid case of VPL? And when the skirts are that short, I really want my nether regions covered in case I have to get out of a car. I suppose it’s great if you are attending the sort of buttoned-up event where everyone looks glamorous and stuff like undergarments is for the lowly, but that doesn’t explain how you can crawl out of your freaking Mercedes. Though, I suppose if I was that rich, I’d just have my accompanying man lift me out. What other use would I have for him? Besides sex, anyway.

Okay, so, that’s Fashion Week so far. I know you’re all thrilled to hear about it. I’ll be there next week as well, so I’ll probably talk about it then too. In the meantime, why don’t you check it out yourself? Tomorrow some friends of mine are going to be performing, and they’re a blast. So have at it, kids! Go. Be fashionable. Avoid flimsy tight shiny pants.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

